Makers Nutrition Makers Nutrition

24-HOUR SERVICE

1-844-625-3771

REQUEST QUOTE

Get Pricing within 48 Hours

  • Supplement Manufacturing Series: Halal and Kosher Certification
Supplement Manufacturing Series: Halal and Kosher Certification

Nutraceuticals World phrases it perfectly: “Today’s product savvy consumers want, expect and are entitled to quality food products.” With the rising interest in kosher and halal foods and supplements, it is in your brand’s best interest to remain cognizant of why it is important not only to offer your customers certified products, but to make sure your manufacturer is on board and compliant.

What Does It Mean to Be Halal? Kosher?

“Halal” is an Arabic word meaning “lawful” or “permitted.” In general, every food is considered halal in Islam unless prohibited by the Qur’an or the Hadith. According the Islamic Council of Victoria, halal foods are those that are:

  • free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law (Shariah).
  • processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

“Kosher” is a Hebrew word that means “fit” or “proper.” Kosher food and drink comply with Jewish religious dietary law. Keeping kosher is considered a “mitzvah,” a divine commandment. Jewish people believe that God commanded them to keep kosher, so they are connecting with God by fulfilling his command. They also believe that it was commanded by God because eating in this pure way will benefit both body and soul.

Halal and Kosher Supplement Manufacturing

As many supplements contain gelatin derived from pork (unlawful), it is extremely important for Muslim people to be careful about not only the food they eat, but the vitamins they take. Gelatin is found in capsules, gummies, and softgels, and is listed among the product ingredients on the bottle or package. If there is no indication of the product being halal-certified, then that product most likely contains gelatin from pork. The same goes for kosher products. The certification symbol MUST be on the bottle or package. Otherwise, the product cannot be deemed kosher. For a kosher product to be certified, every ingredient, additive and processing aid that is used in production must also be kosher. Non-kosher foods cannot be used in the production lines or with the same equipment as kosher foods.

When choosing a supplement manufacturer to create a halal and/or kosher product, steer clear of any misguidance. You want a transparent provider who can guarantee its ingredients’ sources and how they were processed. Makers Nutrition outpaces supplement manufacturer competition because we are upfront and honest. If we are not the best fit for your project, we’ll tell you. More likely than not, however, we are #YourSupplementSolution!

Ideas

There are tons of halal and/or kosher vitamins and supplements on the market today. Kids’ chewable vitamins, multi-flavored kids’ probiotic gummies, calcium, Vitamin D, and prenatal vitamins are all great options to offer your customers. Dietary limitations don’t have to limit what your customers take. Show them that your supplement manufacture and your customers’ needs sync up so they can enjoy as many benefits as those without the dietary guidelines.

Sources

Loading comments…